What I’m Really All About

What am I about?  What are my passions and beliefs? Sometimes it’s easy to go through life and not really think about these questions.  Lately though, I’ve been thinking about them a lot. I guess I need to know that my life has meaning, more than just the daily grind. I want to stand for something. I want to look back at my life when I’m old and know that I accomplished something good.

I think it’s too easy in our society to get caught up in the American dream, or at least a corrupted version of it; getting stuff. Big houses, big cars, big closets. We spend all our energy working toward goals of getting stuff, or for some people just getting by. We work all day in order to pay the bills, then at the end of a long day, flop down in front of the T.V. till it’s time to go to bed, then get up and repeat.

I don’t want to just get by, I want to thrive. Not necessarily in a earthly or monetary sense, (although it would be nice) but in an eternal sense. I want my life to be about more than just survival, or status. I want to make connections, to make a difference. Maybe I’m too optimistic to think I can do all of it, but I’m sure as hell going to try.

It’s easy to get distracted by all the things I think I need to do. An uncleaned house probably doesn’t have an eternal consequence, but not living out my passions and beliefs probably does.

I decided to make a list of all the things I care about, I call it my “About” list. I wrote it a few days ago while feeling frustrated with daily life. Sometimes I need to remind myself there are many important things within daily life that define who I am and what I’m striving for.

I’m  about living with less and being happy with less.

I’m about being a naturalist and finding God’s reflection in an ocean wave or mountain stream.

I’m about learning, growing and challenging myself to think outside the box and come to my own conclusions.

I’m about trying to be a better wife, mother and friend. I’m about relationships.

I’m about traveling and finding new places and new people. I’m about cultures, traditions and art.

I’m about creating. Creating memories, beauty and stories.

I’m about words. Reading them, writing them learning more of them.

I’m about valuing and empowering women and girls. Walking alongside them and finding out our worth is more than skin deep.

I’m about love. Giving it, receiving it and believing everyone deserves it.

There’s my optimistic list of what I’m all about. Admittedly, I often lose sight of these things and start to think the most important thing in the world is getting a cup of coffee right now! Or something else equally as trivial, but at least I can come back to my list and remind myself what I’m really striving for and what truly matters in the long run.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “What I’m Really All About

  1. Carol Childers

    Thank you Bre, your words always touch me and bless me so much. I can tell that they come from God’s Spirit in you. When I see your heart, I see His very heart beating within you.

    I too have been doing some serious searching and listening to His voice and I am feeling such a longing for the freedom of absolutely just being in God’s presence and in the place where He knows I can find His healing for my soul, somewhere that I can feel His Spirit so strong that it takes my breath away and only go WHERE He leads me and only BECAUSE He has led me!

    I miss you and seeing your smile and getting my hugs!

Leave a Reply

